About Fat Cat

Follow Fat Cat Cuisine

Almost two years ago I decided I wanted to make a change in my life. I finally had my own place and the freedom and control over what came into my home that I needed. After making the decision to do better, I went through my cupboards and put everything I deemed "unhealthy" into a basket. That included pasta, rice, bread, sweets, chips, sodas, juice, certain canned foods, certain frozen foods, etc. If I had of went grocery shopping for the same items it probably would've cost me $150. I started out by drinking lots of water and being careful about what I ate. After about two weeks I jumped headfirst into keto and loved it. Within 8 months I had dropped 70lbs and 6 pant sizes. I felt better, I was more confident, and I looked healthier (not just because of the size difference!). 

Unfortunately, many things have happened in my life since last summer. Something had to give, and I could no longer find the will power to keep up with keto (or the old blog). I ended up gaining back a considerable amount of weight, for which I kick myself, because I stopped caring about what went into my body. However, that is behind me now. The only thing I can do is move forward, so I am. My current goal is to lose everything I gained back; originally I had hoped to do that before the end of June but that seems unlikely, so I will give myself a generous goal of sometime this summer. Below is my counter from MFP, if you're interested!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

There's much more to me than the weight-loss journey, though! I'm a 25 year old female who lives in a townhouse with her S.O. and three cats. Cats are probably one of my favourite things in the world and I treat my boys (all of my cats are male!) like family. Our oldest is a black cat named Zen, who looks both wise and devious at the same time. Next, we have Boxer - a gray and white tuxedo cat who looks like a big dumb jock and whose meow sounds like a little girl. Finally, we have Teddy. He's the newest addition, a love-at-first-site kitty. He's an orange tabby with peach fur, dark orange stripes, and copper eyes. He loves human contact and getting into trouble. Head over to the cats page for more about the cats!

I'm also a student. I will be finishing my undergrad in 2015, with an Honors Specialization in Sociology and a Certificate of Professional Communication. Afterwards, I hope to move on to grad school to pursue and MA and a PhD. I'm pretty certain I want to be a professor. One of the reasons I want to lose weight and be more healthy is because I feel like it makes me a better student. I often feel more dedicated and more confident in my work, and less like I am being judged on the way I look. So here's to that.

That's it for now. If you want to contact me for any reason, head over to the contact page and submit your message!